By Cycle

“It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them… while in a motor car you would have no such accurate remembrance of a country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle. ”
– Ernest Hemingway

Vest way round Siem Reap - By Cycle

Best way round Siem Reap – By Cycle

As King Solomon said, nothing is new. I wanted to talk about how it was only after I started really cycling anywhere and everywhere that I became intimately acquainted with the topography of my island city. Nothing like balancing on two wheels, not even strolling or jogging, to tell you the subtle sign of a slope. Every mound is resistance and every dip is relief. And to top it off, each tread on the pedal brings a ribbon of breeze to breath through. No helmets or windshield corners to interrupt your view, it’s just you, your handlebars, your legs and the road.

Well I guess Hemingway got that first.

Tags: , , ,

About sarahhyy

Hand-to-mouth adj Having only the bare essentials. Mouth-to-stomach n The reason for my hand-to-mouth existence.

Leave a comment